Do you need help?

We look forward to your inquiry.

info@stoos-muotatal.ch
+41 (0)41 818 08 80
Stoos-Muotatal Tourismus GmbH
Grundstrasse 232
6430 Schwyz
Do you need help?
Illgau

The mountain village with character

The cosy Sigristen House, local tradition and an abundance of nature – that is what Illgau is about! It lies on an idyllic sun terrace which is protected from the wind at around 200 metres above the Muotatal.

The widely spread farms are inhabited at 1,300 metres all year round. The small community of approx. 790 persons knows how to maintain their strong traditions and characteristic peculiarity.

Destination for nature lovers and families
Thanks to the strong and quiet location, Illgau has become a holiday destination for those who love landscapes in the countryside. Hikes and walks lead to scenic outposts which display the Mythen or Muotatal from another angle. On the winter hiking and snow shoe trails, nature belongs to you.

Families, too, have discovered the excitement of Illgau. The Chäferliweg is a hiking trail for children. Thanks to the lovingly constructed forest playgrounds, the hike becomes a day’s excursion for families. Tobogganing fun can be had at the cable car Illgau-Vorderoberberg.

Highlights in Illgau

Out and about with the family or drawing strength from nature – Illgau offers both. In the mountain world between Ibergeregg and Muotathal time runs at its own slow pace.

Energy site Illgau

Stop and recharge your batteries. Nature gives you strength. The area of St. Karl ob Illgau has a strong energy. On the bench you can enjoy the view of the majestic summits and without noticing it your batteries are recharged.

Folk music and tradition

Illgau folk music is especially well-known and popular. It is said that in each Illgau family at least one instrument is played. Alongside the traditional chapels even bands that play modern rock and pop music perform.

Traditional events such as the Sennenchilbi, which takes place each year on Fasnacht Monday, meet great interest. In Illgau the Muotathal weather tellers meet regularly and present their weather prognoses with funny sayings for the next half year.

Two small cable cars

The cable car Ried-Illgau connects the attractive mountain village to the public transport network. The Illgau-Vorderoberberg cable car will take you to the starting point of many hikes, tobogganing and skiing fun.

Embedded in the winter sports area of the Mythen region

The small cable car Illgau-Vorderoberberg provides a direct access to the ski pistes in the Mythen region. If you do not want to ski on the same pistes, try out the ski safari: a skiing round trip through the Schwyz Pre-alpine landscape. You will be out and about for around three hours, and with rustic piste pubs it could take a bit longer.

Plan the perfect time-out now!

For bathtub race drivers. For big city wallowers. For stem turn world champions. For sun worshippers. For explorers of nature. For snowshoe dancers. For those who love wellness. For carving champions. For après-ski princesses. For you! Discover the Stoos-Muotatal region.

More than 2.500 guest beds available

Events in Illgau

Alle Events

11. Country-Night Illgau

Illgau, Lindenmatt 7
14.08.2019, 19:00 – 03:00

erlebnis-illgau GmbH

More about this

Brauchen Sie Hilfe?

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

info@stoos-muotatal.ch
+41 (0)41 818 08 80
Stoos-Muotatal Tourismus GmbH
Grundstrasse 232
6430 Schwyz
Illgau

Das Bergdorf mit Charakter

Das heimelige Sigristenhaus, lokales Brauchtum und viel Natur – das ist Illgau! Es liegt auf einer idyllischen windgeschützten Sonnenterrasse rund 200 Meter über dem Muotatal.

Die weit verstreuten Bauernhöfe sind bis auf 1300 Meter hinauf ganzjährig bewohnt. Die kleine Gemeinschaft von rund 790 Personen wusste ein ausgeprägtes Brauchtum und eine charakteristische Eigenart zu bewahren.

Ausflugsziel für Naturliebhaber und Familien
Dank der prächtigen und stillen Lage ist Illgau ein Ferienort für Landschaftsgeniesser geworden. Wanderungen und Spaziergänge führen zu Aussichtspunkten, welche die Mythen oder das Muotatal aus einer anderen Perspektive zeigen. Auf den Winterwanderwegen und den Schneeschuhtrails hat man die Natur ganz für sich allein.

Auch Familien haben den Reiz von Illgau entdeckt. Der Chäferliweg ist ein Wanderweg für Kinder. Dank den liebevoll gestalteten Waldspielplätzen wird die Wanderung zum Tagesausflug für Familien. Im Winter ist Schlittelspass angesagt bei der Luftseilbahn Illgau-Vorderoberberg.

Highlights in Illgau

Mit der Familie unterwegs sein oder Kraft aus der Natur schöpfen – Illgau bietet beides. In der Bergwelt zwischen Ibergeregg und Muotathal hat die Zeit ihr eigenes, entschleunigtes Tempo.

Winterlandschaft in Illgau

Kraftort Illgau

Innehalten und auftanken. Die Natur schenkt uns Kraft. Dem Gebiet St. Karl ob Illgau wohnt eine kraftvolle Energie inne. Auf der Bank geniesst man die Aussicht auf mächtige Gipfel und lädt unbemerkt die eigenen Batterien wieder auf.

Lokales Brauchtum

Volksmusik und Brauchtum

Besonders bekannt und beliebt ist die Illgauer Volksmusik. Man erzählt sich, dass in jeder Illgauer Familie mindestens ein Instrument gespielt werde. Neben den traditionellen Kapellen treten auch Bands auf, die moderne Rock- und Popmusik spielen.

Auf grosses Echo stossen Brauchtumsanlässe wie etwa die Sennenchilbi, die jedes Jahr am Fasnachtsmontag stattfindet. In Illgau treffen sich auch regelmässig die Muotathaler Wetterschmöcker und geben mit träfen Sprüchen ihre Wetterprognosen für das nächste Halbjahr zum Besten.

Zwei kleine Seilbahnen

Die Luftseilbahn Ried-Illgau schliesst das reizvolle Bergdorf ans Netz des öffentlichen Verkehrs an. Mit der Luftseilbahn Illgau-Vorderoberberg gelangt man zum Ausgangspunkt von Wanderungen, Schlittelspass und Skivergnügen.

Ins Wintersportgebiet der Mythenregion eingebunden

Mit der kleinen Luftseilbahn Illgau-Vorderoberberg hat man direkten Zugang zu den Skipisten der Mythenregion. Wer nicht immer auf denselben Pisten fahren möchte, unternimmt die Skisafari: eine Skirundreise durch die Schwyzer Voralpenlandschaft. Rund drei Stunden ist man unterwegs, dank urigen Pistenbeizen kann es auch etwas länger dauern.

Jetzt die perfekte Auszeit planen!

Für Badewannen-Rennpilotinnen. Für Grossstadt-Auszeitler. Für Stemmbogen-Weltmeister. Für Sonnen-Anbeterinnen. Für Natur-Erkunder. Für Schneeschuh-Tänzerinnen. Für Wellness-Warmduscher. Für Carving-Champions. Für Après-Ski-Prinzessinnen. Für dich! Entdecke die Region Stoos-Muotatal.

Über 2.500 Gästebetten verfügbar